The Atlantic Alliance was established in 1949 by the North Atlantic Treaty, also known as the Washington Treaty. It is a political and military alliance whose central objective is to safeguard the freedom and security of its members.

Portugal is part of the group of 12 founding members of the Atlantic Alliance, along with the following States: Belgium, Canada, Denmark, France, Netherlands, Iceland, Italy, Luxembourg, Norway, United Kingdom and United States of America. Due to successive enlargements - Greece and Turkey in 1952; Germany in 1955; Spain in 1982; Hungary, Poland and the Czech Republic in 1999; Bulgaria, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Romania, Slovakia and Slovenia in 2004; Albania and Croatia in 2009; Montenegro in 2017 ; and North Macedonia in 2020- the Atlantic Alliance currently has 30 allies.

In Portugal, NATO is present through JALLC (Joint Analysis & Lessons Learned Centre), located in Lisbon, the NATO Academy of Communications and Information Academy (NCI Academy), and the command of STRIKFORNATO (Naval Striking and Support Forces NATO) located in Oeiras. 

National participation in NATO missions and operations is an essential instrument for affirming and enhancing Portugal on the international stage and for pursuing our foreign policy objectives, which include the defence of multilateralism and a global order based on the international law.

Portugal participates in NATO missions and operations in Bosnia, Kosovo, Iraq, Afghanistan, the Mediterranean (combating terrorism) and in the Indian Ocean (combating piracy). 

Portugal also contributes regularly for the Air Policing in the Baltic Region, Iceland and the Black Sea Region, for Assurance Measures and for the tailored Forward Presence in Romania.

Portugal hosted in Lisbon the NATO Summit in 2010, where the current Strategic Concept (Active Engagement, Modern Defense) was outlined. This document defines the three core tasks of the Alliance: collective defense, crisis management and cooperative security.

  • Share